Senate Judiciary Committee



PRESS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 16, 2021

Contact: redistricting@scsenate.gov (803) 212-6634

S.C. SENATE BEGINS REDISTRICTING PROCESS

Columbia, S.C.-Today, Senator Luke A. Rankin (R-Horry), chairman of the S.C. Senate Judiciary Committee, announced the members who will serve on the Senate Redistricting Subcommittee. In addition to Senator Rankin, who chairs the subcommittee, they are: Senator George E. "Chip" Campsen, III (R-Charleston), Senator Tom Young, Jr. (R-Aiken), Senator Ronnie A. Sabb (D-Williamsburg), Senator Margie Bright Matthews (D-Colleton), Senator Scott Talley (R-Spartanburg), and Senator Richard A. "Dick" Harpootlian (D-Columbia).

According to Senator Rankin, "The members of our bipartisan subcommittee represent a wide range of different experiences and perspectives. I look forward to our working together on a redistricting process that is fair and equitable to all South Carolinians."

The subcommittee will hold an organizational meeting at 10:30 a.m., on Tuesday, July 20, 2021, in Room 105 of the Gressette Building.

Districts for the S.C. General Assembly and the U.S. House of Representatives are redrawn every ten years, after the census is taken, to meet the requirements of federal and state law. This process ensures that members of the S.C. General Assembly and South Carolina's members to the U.S. House of Representatives are elected from districts with approximately the same population.

The public is urged to attend the public hearings that will be held across the state. A schedule of the public hearings with the dates, locations, and times will be announced in the near future.

For additional information about the public hearings, redistricting subcommittee meetings, and other information related to the Senate redistricting process, please email redistricting@scsenate.gov or call (803) 212-6634.